Follow your..?

7 years ago, if you’d ask me what to follow, I’d tell you to follow your mind. And I’d find thousands of arguments to defend my perspective and I would’ve persuaded you of this. 3 years ago, I’d tell you it’s definitely your heart. If you follow your heart, no matter how illogical it seems like, you’ll just feel happy and life is about happiness, right?

The struggle between the heart and the mind lies within you and you have to let one of them to win, right? 

No, you don’t. 

Now, if you ask me what I’m following, I’ll tell you it’s a whole new part of me I created. I dunno where it lies. It’s not really materialistic but it’s like a magical potion I made. I asked myself, “What do I need to live my life almost near to perfect?” And that’s the first step: I realized there’s no perfect way to live life. I realized I am a human being and well, it’s in my nature to make mistakes and mess up sometimes. 

So, in order to avoid at least 80% of a chaotic life, what do I need? It seems easy to analyze and it’s actually pretty simple. You need to create “something” that consists of all the influences around you. So, here’s to the 2nd realization. What/Who do I wanna set as my influences? 

  1. My mind: Your mind is the logical part of you. It’s the brake that stops you when you start something that seems unnecessary or stupid. It doesn’t matter whether you follow it or not. It’s there and it functions just well in all of us. 
  2. My heart: It’s the exact opposite of your mind. It floods you with feelings and emotions that make your face flush with love or with anger. It’s so not easy to understand it, but, sometimes, it’s the easiest to follow.
  3. My closest people: Your “people” help in defining your path. They don’t conquer it, of course, but they do have a vision of you that you don’t have. They shape your final touches and they matter. However, it’s important to not let them choose for you but you also need to give them the space to tell you their vision ’cause, after all, they care about you and trust you.
  4. My experience: Experience starts from day 1 in your life. It starts from the time you cried after trying to touch fire and it hurt, so you just stopped doing this. And that’s exactly, simply said, what experience means. You tried something yourself, it worked and you started doing it. Or, you tried something yourself, it didn’t work and you stopped doing it. No matter what the effect was, you just learned something and this shaped you into being you.
  5. My eyes: Eyes seem too materialistic, right? Well, they’re but if you use them well, they’ll give you insights about things in a way you never even imagined. Sometimes, all you have to do is to just “look”. Sometimes, all it takes for you is to focus with your own eyes to see something other people didn’t see. Your eyes let you see feelings, little things that shape the world. They’re your mirror. So, don’t you ever ignore them.

Those 5 things shape my “intuition” or what I call “the mixture”. I added 20% of this on 30% of that and they all shaped my mixture that I like to follow. Of course, the potion I used has specific measurements of each part. I’m not gonna tell you these measurements ’cause they have to differ from one individual to the other. Also, the things that shape your “mixture” may be different than mine. It doesn’t matter, the point is to specify which senses do you think are trustworthy of shaping your life? Which influences are real? That’s the question. And the answer lies within you.  

About thoughtsxthoughts

I just post random thoughts
This entry was posted in Life lessons, Thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment